Subscribe to The Joyous Living

* indicates required

National Distracted Driving Awareness Month


Do you hate seeing drivers on their phones? Show of hands (me! me!) I think the worse are the ones who are texting or reading something on their phones and you watch their cars scarily veering closer and closer to your lane. Eeks! Shoe Shoe! And if you are me you're always wondering where the heck are those CHP officers to nab the reckless driver who's going to cause an accident.

Well apparently April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month (who knew!) and the Camarillo, Moorpark, and Thousand Oaks Police Departments will be joining law enforcement agencies statewide stopping drivers who violate California’s hands-free cell phone law.

On April 4 and April 19, the Camarillo Police Department will have additional officers on patrol looking specifically for drivers on their phones. On April 13 and April 26, the Moorpark Police Department will have additional officers on patrol looking specifically for drivers on their phones.

Last year, the Camarillo Police Department issued 521 citations to drivers texting, calling or performing another function on their phone. WOW!

According to preliminary data from the California Highway Patrol (CHP), 66 people were killed and more than 6,500 injured in 2017 from distracted driving-related crashes. “Cell phones remain one of the top distractions for drivers,” says Ventura County Sheriff’s Office Captain Jeremy Paris. “Like any bad habit, it can be hard to break, but this habit can have life-altering consequences.”

A 2018 observational survey by the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) on driver cell phone use found about 4.5 percent of drivers are still using their cell phone illegally, a nearly 27 percent increase from 2016. “That text or phone call will never be worth losing a life over,” says Ventura County Sheriff’s Office Captain Jeremy Paris. “That is why curbing distracted driving is high on our priority list.”

Under the most recent cell phone law that went into effect in 2017, drivers are prohibited from having a phone in their hand for any reason and can only use their phone in a hands-free manner. The phones must be mounted on the dashboard, windshield or center console, and can only be touched once with the swipe or tap of a finger to activate or deactivate a function. First-time offenders face a $162 fine.

Funding for distracted driving enforcement operations are provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

 
 
So there you have it, friends... Please stay safe and if you're in California be aware of the State laws. You don't want to be the cause of a casualty (shudders) nor do you want to pay a first time offender fine of $162. Can't even imagine what a 2nd time fine would be.

xo JOY

Comments